Alla inlägg under oktober 2007

Av Johanna - 31 oktober 2007 21:52

I'm working late tonight. It's hard cause I loose focus every now and then. If I had been able to keep the same focus all night I would prob be home about now, but now I have at least a couple of hours still. So, what do I do when I loose focus then you might wonder, cause you know I'm stuck in the basement so I can't call or text people and all you are sleeping so I can't chat with you. Of course, I do have internet, but I have that all day long so it's not always that exciting. Tonight however, actually just a few minutes ago I did a blind test on mself, by myself! How is this possible!!?

I have candy cars (bilar).

I am one of those strong believers that the different colours have different taste. I don't just believe it. I am absolutly certain! This test has been performed on me before by a friend of mine that was convinced that they all tasted the same. Then, just as now, I proved that I can always pick out the white ones, that's a piece of cake. I do have troubles separating the pink from the green ones and vice versa, but the white ones are no problem. But I think by proving that the white tastes differntly from the pink and the greens then it wouldn't make any sense if the pink and green had the same taste. Either they all taste the same (which they don't) or all differently. Easy as that! :)

Av Johanna - 31 oktober 2007 18:29

Another thing that puzzles me is the that most americans believe in God, right. And that he has a plan for each and everyone of us and that he puts us through difficult times as a test in our faith. So, why are you then scared that something bad will happen to you? If it does, well, yeah , it sucks but God must have planned it this way so there was nothing that I could have done to get away from it and it my job to get through it. And if it kills you then he must have thought that it was my time to go, I must have done what I was supposed to do in life, so it shouldn't be a big deal.

This is one of the reasons I would like to believe in God, cause it seems so comforting and I think it would make life much easier, less worries. But it doesn't seem to work that way, since people seem just s scared here if not even more than in other countries. But maybe I have gotten this whole God thing wrong...... 

Av Johanna - 31 oktober 2007 09:42

It's a lot of talk about how unsafe it is here, especially for women at night. I don't feel it though. I feel safer here than I sometimes do in Stockholm. Don't know if people are more paranoid or if it's just my intuition that has gone way off with going to the other side of the globe. Though I suppose it wouldn't be strange if people were more paranoid here about those thing, knowing that any twat has the right to be walking around with a gun (no, not a big fan of that "right"). Jeff told just the other day that he ahd gone and bought himself a handgun, not saying he is a twat (even though Marisa(girlfriend) thinks so sometimes;). He is a person I don't think would use it unless he absolutely had to. He wanted it for when the go up to Globe to dig for stones. "You never know if there are any insane diggers walking around up there". Yeah, I guess...  "And then there might be cougars". That made more sense to me but still, he had never heard of any humans being attacked by cougars in Arizona though there have been attacks in California.

Another thing that doesn't really help the paranoia is the news on tv. Everytime something happens the reporters covering the stories about attacks or rape attempt and similar, act as if it's a chock to them. I'm not saying it's not serious but it's not really news that these things happen. They always have and always will. You warn the public that this is going on and were and then you move on and keep living your life. They act as if it's time to declare it an catastrophy for the hole city (I understand it is for those who are directly affected by it). But at the same time it's a city of about 4 million people! Some things are bound to happen. Think I would be really uneasy if it didn't......

Have feeling that the media really scare people with their way of portraying what happened. Like the other night when I watched the news there was a man that had gone haywire and attacked two women in the same night and physically abused them. The second one had a child with her in the car she was getting out of and they seemed to find that one worse than the first one "he even did it in front of a child!!"..... And they end the whole story by qouting one of the girls/women living in the neighbourhood saying "what if it had been me?!". When that is the last message of the news segment scaring people isexactly what they want to do, cause that applies to everyone.  Everyone can think that, but good luck in life if you always have that attitude. Being scared is all you'll ever have time for then and I wouldn't call that living. That's more like waiting for death.

Av Johanna - 30 oktober 2007 14:02

I'm giving a presentation on thursday... again! and I just started it. I obviously did not learn from my misstakes a few weeks ago. It's getting worse every time now.

I guess I have gotten too old to learn! 

Av Johanna - 28 oktober 2007 21:13

Yesterday I got the privilege of going to the homecoming game. My friend Andreas was going with his friends and managed to get me an extra ticket!! For free!!! So it was the whole shebang, starting out with tailgating at three in the afternoon with beer and bbq 'til the game which started at seven. We had pretty good seats and the game was really good. ASU stunk the first quarter, got slightly better in the second and then by the second half they shaped up and actually managed to turn the game around and win. So, they are now 8-0 which has apparently not happened since 1996, so it's a big deal. After the game it was back to the parking lot for an after party with more beer and the remainder of the chips. It was a fun night, fun to hang out with some new people and experience something new (even though I'm bad/shy  at socializing with people I don't know. Note to self: have to keep practicing that). 

And Andreas was a good friend and always made sure I felt comfortable and kept me company all the night which I had not really expected that he would do that well. All in all it was a very good night! :) 

:,(

Av Johanna - 27 oktober 2007 15:27

This morning when I woke up the small gecko had decided that it was too hard to recover from the stress. I had been suspecting it cause he even stoped licking the food off his nose the last few days and when I looked at him last night before going to bed he looked even thinner than before and my last thought before falling asleep was that he very well might not make it throught the night.

It is too bad that I couldn't save him, but hopefully he rests peacefully now. 

Av Johanna - 27 oktober 2007 11:10

Yesterday both me and Verina apparently needed someone to talk to. We ran into each other in the corridor outside her office and just started talking for a bit. Just the same old chitchat that you usally do when you meet someone in the corridor, but it quickly got more personal and we kept on talking. This was about three o'clock in the afternoon. We went outside and sat on the stairs and kept talking, suddenly the sun more or less just fell out of the sky. We decided to go for coffee and we kept talking. We took our coffee to a bench outside and sat there and talked. It was a lovely night. I get a text from Samrat wondering what i'm up to and saying that he is hungry. I assume he wants to go for dinner so we go talk our way back to campus to get our stuff. We talk our way to Uno's where we decided to have dinner, where we sit down and talk some more. Samrat comes to join us and we are now talking all three. After a fairly long dinner we talk back to campus and down to my office where we just top the night off with a couple of hours of talking. I got home at three this morning. As Samrat got to experience you can cover a lot of different subjects when you talk for almost 12 hours. :)

Av Johanna - 24 oktober 2007 16:36

I just had a look at my bank accounts. The bank that I lend money from messed up payment so I had to do some adjustments and transfers to make sure all the money ended up in the right place. And since I was at it I also decided to have a look at my american account and they have this thing called "my spending report" where they catagorize your expenses so you can see fairly easily where you are spending your money and also an avarage over the last two or three months. It's pretty convenient really. But it got me thinking.... Since I apparently only spend about half my salary while living here, I should have a bunch of money piling up somewhere.... But I don't feel like I have. I do have a buffer, but it seems to stay about the same size all the time. So where does all the money go?

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards