Alla inlägg under november 2007

Av Johanna - 30 november 2007 14:32

It's raining! For real!! It's been raining for an hour straight. I've never seen that here. Usually it pours down for a couple of minutes and then stops. Maybe two or three such showers on a "rainy day". But not today, no, it is drizzling and for a long time. This is what I would call a rainy day. I hope it keeps on raining all day and night too for that matter. I'm so excited!

Sorry to all you at home, I know you've had your fair share of rain this fall, but when it only happens a few times a year you really start to appreciate the rain. And also... it reminds me of home.... :) 

Av Johanna - 29 november 2007 10:55

Yesterday I booked my ticket to Denver, where I will be spending Christmas. I'm so excited! Have a friend who lives there that I will visit and we will most probably even go skiing for a few days. I'm gonna get me some snow!! :D

Av Johanna - 28 november 2007 13:40

Friday after thanksgiving is Black Friday and by the name of it you would think it would be as horribly boring as our  "Long Friday", but no, this is a good friday. It's the shopping friday! :)

This is when all the stores have sales and it's not in the middle of a season change! Well, first of all cause there are no seasons in this state even though they try. But more cause the "winter stuff" has already been out for a month or so since they want to follow the rest of the country. Meaning you get seasonal clothing for a good price.

Of course I had to give this Black Friday shopping a try, but since I figured everyone would be out shopping I was smart enough to wait 'til the afternoon (didn't have so much to do with waking up at noon and having lunch at around 3.30 ;). I did some effective shopping for about 2.5 hrs and ended up with three pairs of shoes and a belt and then some free body spray or something. And I hardly spent any money at all! Think it ended at less than $50. Was very close to walking away with a bag as well but decided that it was too red. If I hadn't the damage would have been more than the double. :)

Av Johanna - 27 november 2007 11:11

My little monster is shedding again. I didn't know it happened this often.... and I just realised that if I write about it everytime it happens I will soon see a pattern in how often it really is. :)

Imagine that! Only having to change clothes like once a month and all you had to do was undress. Not having to figure out what to wear next. I would be fast in the mornings (as soon as I got out of bed, that is). ;)

But then again it would be little bit boring as well. 

Av Johanna - 26 november 2007 23:27

I got my trunkstruts ( thingies that hold the trunk open) delivered a few days ago and last night I decided to mount them. But of course, they don't fit! Even though the website said they would fit my car. Highly annoying..... Oh, well, maybe I'm just being stupid. I will have another look at it someday to make sure....

Av Johanna - 26 november 2007 10:52

Saturday night, me, Janelle (aka JJ) and Samrat decided we were going to have a drunken movie night. And it's pretty much exactly what it sounds like, you get drunk while watching movies. Janelle brought the gin samrat already had the tonic and we made brownies and went to the video store to get movies. We park more or less in front of the enterence and go in. And were gone maybe for half an hour or so which is not bad when you are three people trying to agree on a movie or two. We ended up with two, Blood diamond and Stomp the yard (Samrat had to give in on that one). When we get out and get in to the car I'm just about to ask Samrat why he has glitter all over his front seat when we realise that the side window on the driver side is in the driver seat instead of mounted in the door! Highly inconvenient! So instead of swoshing back to gorge on brownies we had to stick around a while longer to do a police report. The moroons got away with a few quarters, but left the ASU parking pass and the book in thermodynamics which they probably could at least made $100 from selling it online. Can't stand stupid criminals! Waste of time and energy for everyone.

Anyways, we watched the movies and got drunk at the same time. Between the three of us we almost finished the whole bottle of gin and I think I was the only one who saw the ending of Stomp the yard...... and I can't say it's absolutely clear to me, but I know it was all happy. ;)  

Av Johanna - 24 november 2007 14:22

Correct me if I'm wrong, but when we (= people in sweden) turn on the water tap we turn the hot and the cold water in different directions. Inwards to open and outwards to close? Unless you have a "blender" of course. Here it works like that sometimes but it's equally common that you turn them in the same direction. It throws me everytime when I try to turn the water off. Don't know if this is a national or state thing but to me it's just plain weird. :)

Av Johanna - 24 november 2007 01:37

Thursday was thanksgiving. It sort of feels like warm up for christmas when it comes to eating. Fortunately, when you get invited to dinner you don't have to eat the food for a week and then do it all again a month later. Anyways, I got invited to my friend Verina and her family. We were 12 people in total and in this country Verinas house is "the house of food" (in Sweden "the house of food" is at Zuzanas :). There is no end to what you ccan eat and at least 80% of it is cooked with alcohol and if alcohol is in the recipie they added some extra.

Are they drunks? 

No, they just love good food. :D

And everything was delicious! Unfortunately I can never eat as much as I would like. Last year I was slightly disappointed in the pummpkin pie. I thought it was much a do about nothing, but this year they had made pumpkin chiffon(?) pie and that was really good. And of course before that there were appetizers... about five of them and then turkey, mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce... mmmmmmm..... I love food!

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards